WAM 2014


The COST MP1306 EUSpec action is proud to announce its first Whole Action Meeting, at the Catholic University of Louvain, in Louvain-la-Neuve Belgium. The meeting will comprise two scientific days, with invited speakers and an overview of the main activities in theoretical spectroscopy in EUSpec ("getting to know each other"). An additional half day will be dedicated to the Working Groups of the COST action ("starting to work together"). The 5 Working Groups focus on correlation, spectroscopy, time-resolved techniques, platforms of code/databases, and experiments (see the menu items on the main left bar of this site).

Abstracts are requested for contributed talks during the scientific days! Submit via the form below when registering.



Note on reimbursement

The paper work for the COST contract is finally finished. You should have received an invitation email with instructions. If not please contact the COST organizers (not the conference ones, they have no access to eCOST). The general rule is: all MC members are expected to participate in the meeting and therefore will be reimbursed according to COST rules. This normally covers all travel and accommodation costs. The same applies for invited speakers. Further participants can be reimbursed if the budget allows.



Louvain-la-Neuve (aka LLN) is located just half an hour South of Brussels, Belgium, in the heart of Europe. The conference and WG meetings will take place on the UCLouvain campus.

The two airports in Brussels Zaventem (code BRU) and Charleroi (CRL also called Brussels South) are convenient for LLN. The easiest way to reach Louvain la Neuve is by train from either airport. IMPORTANT! We have 2 cities called Louvain: Leuven in the Dutch speaking region and Louvain-la-Neuve (= the new) in the French speaking region. If you are not careful you may end up with a train ticket to Leuven. It is very pretty to visit, but you will be late for the meeting.

Accomodation is organized in the IBIS STYLES hotel just outside campus. You should secure your own reservation using this Word/docx form below, faxed or emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., before August 1st after which they can not guarantee availability.


Monday 15th of September
Venue: auditorium Coubertin 01

Correlation: chairperson Heike Herper
8.50 –9.00                 Gian-Marco Rignanese -- Welcome and information
9.00 – 9.45                Maurits Haverkort  First Principles L edges
9.45 – 10.15              Jan Minar  DMFT and ARPES
10.15 – 10.45            Matthieu Verstraete  Correlation in ultrafast dynamics

10.45 – 11.00            coffee break

11.00 – 11.20            Jonathan Laflamme A faster G0W0 implementation for complex materials
11.20 – 11.40            Samuel Poncé  Zero-point motion effect on the bandgap of diamond
11.40 – 12.00            Yannick Gillet   First-principles study of frequency-dependent Raman intensities
12.00 – 12.20            Dominik Legut  T-MOKE and X-Ray MLD – Theory and Experiment
12.20 – 14.00            lunch

Platforms: chairperson Martin Lüders
14.00 – 14.30            Jens Jorgen Mortensen The ASE platform
14.30 – 15.00            Anton Kokalj The XCrysDen platform
15.00 – 15.30            Frank Neese The ORCA platform

15.30 – 16.00            coffee break

Experiments: chairperson Ana Violeta Girão
16.00 – 16.45            Amelie Juhin XAS and RIXS
16.45 – 17.15            Carolin Antoniak Magnetism and MCD
17.15 – 17.45            Maddalena Pedio Inverse PES
17.45 – 18.05            Alla Zak Inorganic nanotubes and fullerene-like nanoparticles

Tuesday 16th of September
Venue: auditorium Erasme 55

Time resolved: chairperson Roberto Gunnella
9.00 – 9.45                Keisuke Hatada Time resolved XAS
9.45 – 10.15              Simone Techert Femtosecond RIXS with XFELs
10.15 – 10.45            TBA

10.45 – 11.05            coffee break

11.05 – 11.25            Krisztian Palotas   A 3D-WKB tunneling theory for spin-polarized STS
11.25 – 11.45            Zeila Zanolli  Electric control of the magnetization in BFO/LFO superlattices
11.45 – 12.05            Silvia Casassa The CRYSTAL code
12.05 – 12.25            Ludger Wirtz  Excitonic effects in layered materials

12.25 – 14.00            lunch

Spectroscopy: chairperson Silvia Casassa
14.00 – 14.45            Barbara Brena Molecular systems
14.45 – 15.15            Peter Blaha Core-hole effects in XAS with the BSE
15.15 – 15.45            Mauro Stener NEXAFS with TDDFT

15.45 – 16.15            coffee break

16.15 – 16.35            Peter Krueger  XMCD and photoelectron diffraction of oriented molecules
16.35 – 16.55            Fabiana Da Pieve  Multiexcitonic effects and spin-orbital excitations in RIXS
16.55 – 17.15            Jan Macutkevic Terahertz and broadband spectroscopy of nanocarbons


Wednesday 17th of September
Parallel sessions for WG 1-5, in 2 sets of 1.5 hours, to allow people to participate in different WG.
Venue: auditorium Coubertin 03
9.00 - 10.30   WG 2 Spectroscopy part 1 WG2 agenda for WAM meeting
11.00 - 12.30 WG 2 Spectroscopy part 2
Minute of the meeting
Venue: auditorium Coubertin 04
9.00 - 10.30   WG 1 Correlation  WG1 agenda for WAM meeting
Venue: auditorium Coubertin 05
9.00 - 10.30   WG 3 Time Resolved
Minute of the meeting
11.00 - 12.30 WG 5 Experiment  WG5 agenda for WAM meeting
Venue: auditorium Coubertin 03
14.00 - 15.00 Management Committee meeting